Fandom

London Bird Club Wiki

Aldenham Park

556pages on
this wiki
Add New Page
Talk0 Share

Useful Links for Aldenham Park, 1, 2 and 3. [1] [2] [3]


Aldenham Park Estate OS TQ1796, also includes Aldenham Country Park.


Aldenham Country Park.

A 65-acre reservoir with a circular footpath and 175 acres of woods and meadowland. Adventure playgrounds, rare breeds farm animals. There is angling, a nature trail, horse-riding and refreshments with an annual craft fair. Fields are available for holding corporate special events. Early morning and late afternoon are the best times to visit this site as it gets very busy during the day, especially at weekends and school holidays.

Less than half a kilometre to the NW is the more enticing Hilfield Park Reservoir. (Entry by key from H&MWT. Members only).


Aldenham Park Estate.

Covers the other half of my Patchlist site. It is an area of Farmland and a private wood. Within the wood is 'Tykes Water', a 5-6 acre private fishing lake.

I have, obtained permission to roam the estate and I hope it turns up something of interest as the wood is rarely disturbed, except in winter when World War 3 erupts in the form of a Pheasant shoot!!! ( The best so far...Pair of LESSER SPOTTED WOODPECKER, PIED FLYCATCHER, CUCKOO & 2 Fledgling LITTLE OWL. And confirmed Breeding BARN OWLS.

There is a Public Footpath that passes through part of the wood and farmland, entered from Butterfly Lane.

If you are at this end of the world, say hello. Im the Geezer with a pair of Leica's around my neck and a well behaved Springer Spaniel at my side... or nearby!!!


Patch Boundary:

Species seen or heard from:- Start Public footpath at Jct ALLUM LANE & ELSTREE HILL NORTH to Aldenham CP. - Around perimeter of Reservoir exiting at DAGGER LANE into HOGG LANE, onto footpath to BUTTERFLY LANE, Whole length of BUTTERFLY LANE to WATLING STREET (A5). On to start point.


Steve Blake's Patchlist for 2008.


Wednesday 2nd January 2008.

1:Mute Swan. 2:Mallard. 3:Gadwall. 4:Pochard. 5:Tufted Duck. 6:Shoveler. 7:Mandarin. 8:Great Crested Grebe. 9:Coot. 10:Moorhen. 11:Cormorant. 12:Common Gull. 13:Black-headed Gull. 14:LesserBlack-backed Gull. 15:Grey Heron. 16: Ruddy Duck. 17:Carrion Crow. 18:Jackdaw. 19:Magpie. 20:Woodpigeon. 21:Feral Rock Dove. 22:Stock Dove. 23:Mistle Thrush. 24:Redwing. 25:Fieldfare. 26:Chaffinch. 27:Robin. 28:Blue Tit. 29:Great Tit. 30:Greenfinch. 31 Kestrel. 32:Pied Wagtail. 33:Common Pheasant.


Saturday 5th January 2008.

34:Little Grebe. 35:Nuthatch. 36:Long-tailed Tit. 37:Red legged-Partridge.


Sunday 6th January 2008.

38:Grey Wagtail. 39:Teal. 40:Dunnock. 41:Wren. 42:Jay. 43:Blackbird. 44:Canada Goose. 45:Great Spotted Woodpecker.


Tuesday 8th January 2008.

46:Song Thrush. 47:Little Owl. 48:Goldcrest. 49:Herring Gull. 50:Collared Dove. 51:Green Woodpecker.


Thursday 10th January 2008.

52:Siskin.


Monday 14th January 2008.

53:Treecreeper. 54:Bullfinch.


Saturday 19th January 2008.

55:Sparrowhawk. 56:Common Buzzard. 57:Woodcock.


Monday 17th March 2008

58:Chiffchaff.


Saturday 19th April 2008

59: Common Tern. 60: Sand Martin. Swallow. 61: House Martin. 62 Blackcap.


Friday 8th May 2008

63: Swift.


Wednesday 4th June 2008

64: Barn Owl.


Steve Blake's Patchlist for 2007.

Tuesday 2nd January.

1:Mandarin Duck. 2:Coot. 3:Mallard. 4:Blue Tit: 5:Great Tit. 6:Carrion Crow. 7:Woodpigeon. 8:Feral Rock Dove. 9:Collared Dove. 10:Magpie. 11:Blackbird. 12:Black-headed Gull. 13:Common Gull. 14:Lesser Black-backed Gull. 15:Robin. 16:Chaffinch. 17:Greenfinch. 18:Jay. 19:Song Thrush. 20:Mistle Thrush. 21:Redwing. 22:Mute Swan. 23:Cormorant, 24:Shoveler. 25:Tufted Duck. 26:Pochard. 27:Gadwall. 28:Canada Goose. 29:Green Woodpecker. 30:Goldfinch. 31:Kestrel. 32:Great Crested Grebe. 33:Little Grebe. 34:Treecreeper. 35:Long-tailed Tit. 36:Kingfisher. 37:Moorhen. 38:Grey Heron. 39:Dunnock.


Thursday 4th January.

40:Siskin. 41:Great Spotted Woodpecker. 42:Coal Tit. 43:Goldcrest. 44:Stock Dove. 45:Little Owl. 46:Tawny Owl. 47:Wren.


Friday 5th January.

48:Bullfinch. 49:Lesser Spotted Woodpecker. 50:Nuthatch. 51:Lesser Redpoll. 52: Red-legged Partridge. 53:Common Pheasant.


Monday 8th January.

54:House Sparrow. 55:Pied Wagtail. 56:Ruddy Duck.


Tuesday 9th January.

57:Jackdaw.


Tuesday 16th January.

58: Teal.


Saturday 20th January.

59: Lapwing.


Tuesday 23rd January.

60: Goldeneye. 61: Common Buzzard.


Monday 29th January.

62: Yellow-legged Gull.


Wednesday 31st January.

63: Herring Gull.


Saturday 10th February.

64: Sparrowhawk. 65:Stonechat. 66:Fieldfare.(First seen 2/1/07).


Monday 12th February.

67: Grey Wagtail.


Monday 26th February.

68: Goosander(M).


Saturday 10th March.

69: Skylark.


Saturday 17th March.

70:Meadow Pipit. 71:Chiffchaff.


Tuesday 20th March.

72:Reed Bunting.


Monday 26th March.

73:Linnet.


Saturday 31st March.

74: Shelduck. (m&f)


Thursday 5th April.

75:Wigeon. 76: Blackcap.


Tuesday 10th April.

77: Common Tern.


Wednesday 11th April.

78: Swallow (2).


Sunday 15th April.

79: Sandwich Tern.


Tuesday 17th April.

80: Sand Martin. 81: House Martin. 82: Garden Warbler.


Friday 20th April.

83: Black-tailed Godwit.


Saturday 21st April.

84: Pied Flycatcher.


Saturday 28th April.

85: Common Whitethroat.


Sunday 29th April.

86: Cuckoo.


Monday 30th April.

87: Black Tern 2).


Wednesday 2nd May.

88: Common Sandpiper. 89: Hobby.


Saturday 5th May.

90: Swift.


Sunday 6th May.

91: Wheatear.


Tuesday 22nd May.

92:Great Black-backed Gull.


Tuesday 5th June.

93: Lesser Whitethroat


Saturday 9th June.

94: Egyptian Goose.


Monday 11th June.

95: Greater Scaup.


Saturday 23rd June.

96: Reed Warbler.


Tuesday 10th July.

97: Sedge Warbler.


Monday 6th August.

98: Willow Warbler.


Tuesday 14th August.

99: Spotted Flycatcher.


Sunday 19th August.

100: Peregrine Falcon.


Saturday 1st September.

101: Yellow Wagtail.


Saturday 8th September.

102: Whinchat. 103: Rook.


Monday 1st October.

104: Yellowhammer.


Tuesday 16th October.

105: Golden Plover. 106: Water Rail.


Saturday 3rd November.

107: Ring-necked Parakeet.


Monday 26th November.

108: Brambling.


Saturday 1st December.

109: Woodcock.


Non Countables: Barnacle Goose. Muscovy Duck.


Ad blocker interference detected!


Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.